Dear random dude on a dating app,

(Trigger Warning)

Some Saturdays are full of shit

You wake up and find out

How the world is still filled with ugly

It’s more of a making peace, getting there

sort of situation – But never is –

You’re an incorrigible optimist

On most days, except

The day you learn …

Someone got your drunk friend home

And then forgot to leave.

Forgot to ask himself

Whether she deserved to be treated like a human being

And not a blow up doll for his fantasies

I’m twenty eight and desensitised

Been molested at least a dozen times

But nothing quite compares really

To waking up and being confided to

In doubtful half whispers

So hazy they may not have been spoken at all

‘hey, so this thing happened …’

I’d call it an invasion

I’d clarion a war

Or would I?

Or would I just go to sleep

Play pretend at forgetting

Tell myself I must have imagined

The fury I felt

On waking up in my bed

Naked and bleeding and afraid

With no memory of getting there?

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment